Onslow County votes to change board of commissioners structure

JACKSONVILLE, N.C. (WNCT) – Onslow County voters decided Tuesday night to change the structure of their board of commissioners.

The board will have seven members serving staggered terms.

It’s something county officials said will reduce workloads and bring continuity.

“It’s not the job of the county commissioners to run the government on a day by day basis, but it is the job of the county commissioners to do policy making,” said Riley Eversull, Onslow County’s communications specialist. “So by having a staggered term it creates that measurement of consistency in their leadership and their policy making over several years.”

Two more commissioners will be voted onto the board in 2018, bringing the total up to seven for the first time.

However, it will take another six years until 2024 for the staggered terms to be fully implemented.

WNCT-TV 9 On Your Side provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s