ECU Athletes Honored at 3rd Annual Goldspy Awards

GREENVILLE (WNCT) – A pair of East Carolina standouts in track and field were named athletes of the year at East Carolina at the 3rd annual Goldspy Awards.

Avion Jones was named as the Male Athlete of the Year while Kayla Padgett was honored as the Female Athlete of the Year.

The Goldspys is an end-of-the-year awards show modeled after the ESPYs that is organized, coordinated, produced and hosted by the East Carolina Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) to honor and highlight the success of ECU student-athletes during the academic year.

The 2015 American Athletic Conference champion East Carolina baseball team was named as the Team of the Year.

ECU catcher Travis Watkins was named Mr. Pirate, while tennis standout Nicole LaDuca was named Mrs. Pirate.


WNCT-TV 9 On Your Side provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s